Retract or delete a message or chat Skip Navigation

Retract or delete a message or chat

If you didn't mean to send a particular message, you can retract it. When you retract a message, it no longer appears on your devices or your contact's device.
If you want to remove the messages from your devices only, you can delete a message. When you delete a message, it still appears on your contact's device.
  1. In a chat, next to a message or picture that you sent, click the Arrow Down icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To delete the message or picture from your devices only, tap 
      Delete
      .
    • To retract the message from your contact's device, tap 
      Retract
      .

Retract all messages in a chat

When you end a chat with a contact, you can retract all the messages that you sent in the chat. When you retract a chat, all the messages you sent in that chat no longer appear on your devices or your contact's device.
  1. In a chat, click The overflow menu icon, then click 
    Retract Chat
    .
    You can also right-click on the chat and select 
    Retract Chat
    .

Edit a message

If you made a mistake in a message that you sent, you can edit your message. When you edit a message, the original message is retracted and it appears in the message field so you can easily make your changes and resend it.
  1. In a chat, next to a message or picture that you sent, click the Arrow Down icon.
  2. Click 
    Edit
    .
  3. Type a new message.