Managing BlackBerry Workspaces apps

You can manage BlackBerry Workspaces apps for users in the organization, list all devices registered to a specific user, and disable and reinstate use of the BlackBerry Workspaces app for a user on a specific device.

If a user reports a lost mobile device, you can identify the specific device based on the user’s identifying email address, device type, and last activity date, wipe all Workspaces-controlled files cached on that device, and disable access to documents on that device. Files are wiped from the mobile device the next time it connects to the Workspaces service.

When working with a Windows or a Mac computer, a disable request signs the user out of the current session. This is useful, for example, if a user forgot to sign out of BlackBerry Workspaces on a computer that the user no longer has access to. If the user downloaded Workspaces-controlled files to that computer, the files remain on the computer. However, an authorized user cannot open or access those files until they sign in on that computer.

By default, each BlackBerry Workspaces app on a user’s mobile device or computer must connect to the Workspaces service at least once every 72 hours to stay registered and maintain access permissions. If a device doesn't connect within this timeframe, users cannot open any controlled files cached on that device until they reconnect and sign in again.