Delete a user attribute
User attributes use inheritance. To delete an attribute, it must be in the organization where you are performing the delete action. If you do not see the Delete button, verify that you are deleting the attribute from the correct organization level in the enterprise. For more information, see "Manage common content with inheritance" in the
BlackBerry AtHocPlan and Manage Enterprise Organizations
If a user attribute becomes obsolete, you can delete it and all records of the attribute that are associated with end users.
When you try to delete a user attribute that is currently being used in alert targeting, alert template targeting, preset response options, dynamic distribution lists, or disable and delete users conditions, a pop-up box appears, listing all locations where the attribute appears. Removing an attribute in a user query can have unintended consequences, such as changing the target audience of an alert. To avoid these effects, you must remove the attribute from each of the dependencies manually before you can delete the attribute itself.
Attributes with custom translations cannot be deleted. Before attempting to delete an attribute, verify that no custom translations are associated with it. Go to >
Translate Custom Attributes. On the
Custom Attributes Translationpage, select the attribute from the pull-down list. Remove any text that appears in any
Attribute Tooltipfield and then click
Save. Text that is part of the system's primary language appears greyed out and cannot be deleted. This text does not prevent the attribute from being deleted.
- In the navigation bar, click .
- In theUserssection, clickUser Attributes.
- On theUser Attributesscreen, in theAttribute Namecolumn, click the name of an attribute that is defined in the organization.
- On the attribute details screen, clickDelete.
- On theDelete User Attributewindow, clickDelete.If the attribute is being used for alert targeting, preset response options, or any other purpose, you must manually remove the attribute from each dependency before you can access the delete confirmation screen.
The attribute is removed from the system and no longer appears in the User Attributes list.