Skip Navigation

Commands for
Android
devices

Command
Description
Activation types
View device report
This command displays detailed information about a device. You can export and save the device report on your computer. For more information, see View and save a device report.
All (except
BlackBerry 2FA
)
View device actions
This command displays any actions that are in progress on a device. For more information, see Viewing device actions.
All (except
BlackBerry 2FA
)
Lock device
This command locks the device. The user must type the existing device password to unlock the device. If a device is temporarily lost, you might use this command.
When you send this command, the device locks only if there is an existing device password. Otherwise, no action is taken on the device.
MDM controls
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work space only
(
Android Enterprise
)
Delete all device data
This command deletes all user information and app data that the device stores, including information in the work space and returns the device to factory default settings.
If the device is unable to connect to
BlackBerry UEM
when you send this command, you can either cancel the command or remove the device from the console. If the device connects to
BlackBerry UEM
after you remove it, only the work data is deleted from the device, including the work space, if applicable.
To send this command to multiple devices, see Send a bulk command.
MDM controls
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work space only
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Delete only work data
This command deletes work data, including the IT policy, profiles, apps, and certificates that are on the device and deactivates the device. If the device has a work space, the work space information and the work space are deleted from the device but all personal apps and data remain on the device. For more information, see Deactivating devices.
When you use this command on
Android Enterprise
devices, you can type a reason that appears in the notification on the user's device to explain why the work profile was deleted.
For
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
) activations, this command is supported only by devices running Android 11 and later.
If the device is unable to connect to
BlackBerry UEM
when you send this command, you can either cancel the command or remove the device from the console. If the device connects to
BlackBerry UEM
after you remove it, the work data is deleted from the device, including the work space, if applicable.
To send this command to multiple devices, see Send a bulk command.
MDM controls
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work space only
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Unlock device and clear password
This command unlocks the device and prompts the user to create a new device password. If the user skips the "Create device password" screen, the previous password is retained. You can use this command if a user forgets the device password.
This command is not supported on non-
Samsung
devices that are activated with
MDM controls
.
MDM controls
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Samsung Knox
)
Specify device password and lock
This command lets you create a device password and then lock the device. You must create a password that complies with existing password rules. To unlock the device, the user must type the new password.
This command is not supported on non-Samsung devices running
Android
7.0 and later that are activated with
MDM controls
.
For the
Work and personal - user privacy
activation types, only
BlackBerry
devices powered by
Android
8.x and later support this command.
MDM controls
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work space only
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Android Enterprise
)
Reset work space password
This command deletes the current work space password from the device. When the user opens the work space, the device prompts the user to set a new work space password.
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work and personal - user privacy
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Work space only
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Specify work space password and lock
You can specify a work profile password and lock the device. When the user opens a work app, they must type the password that you specified.
Work and personal - user privacy
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Disable/enable work space
This command disables or enables access to the work space apps on the device.
Work and personal - full control
(
Samsung Knox
)
Work and personal - user privacy
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Work space only
- (
Samsung Knox
)
Deactivate BlackBerry 2FA
This command deactivates devices that are activated with the
BlackBerry 2FA
activation type. The device is removed from
BlackBerry UEM
and the user can't use the
BlackBerry 2FA
feature.
BlackBerry 2FA
Wipe apps
This command wipes data from all
Microsoft Intune
-managed apps on the device. The apps are not removed from the device.
For more information, see Wipe apps managed by Microsoft Intune
All (except
BlackBerry 2FA
)
Update device information
This command sends and receives updated device information. For example, you can send newly updated IT policy rules or profiles to a device, and receive updated information about a device such as OS version or battery level.
To send this command to multiple devices, see Send a bulk command.
All (except
BlackBerry 2FA
)
Request bug report
This command sends a request to the device for the client logs. The device user must accept or decline the request.
Work space only
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Restart device
This command sends a request to the device to restart. A message displays to the user that the device will restart in one minute. The device user has the option to snooze the restart for 10 minutes.
Work space only
(
Android Enterprise
)
Work and personal - full control
(
Android Enterprise
)
Remove device
This command removes the device from
BlackBerry UEM
but does not remove data from the device. The device may continue to receive email and other work data.
This command is intended for devices that have been irretrievably lost or damaged and are not expected to contact the server again. If a device that has been removed attempts to contact
BlackBerry UEM
, the user receives a notification and the device won't be able to communicate with
BlackBerry UEM
unless it is reactivated.
To send this command to multiple devices, see Send a bulk command.
All (except
BlackBerry 2FA
)