Lock a file to prevent other users from uploading a new version for 24 hours. Locked files can be unlocked only by the user who locked the file or a workspace administrator. After 24 hours, the lock is automatically removed. This feature is enabled by an organizational policy. Locked files are marked in the content area with , and in the Workspaces Editor with .
Do one of the following:
In the content area, next to the file that you want to lock, click > Lock.
When viewing an Office file in the online editor, click . For more information on editing online, see Edit a file. Click to unlock the file.