Lock files

Workspace administrators, contributors, or users with permission to update a file can lock it to prevent other users from uploading a new version for 24 hours. This feature is enabled by organizational policy.

If another user is working in the file when you lock it, they receive a notification in the open file. If the user saves the file after it is locked, Workspaces saves their file version as a conflicted copy.

A locked file can be unlocked by the person who locked it or by a workspace administrator during the 24-hour lock period. When the file lock expires or a workspace administrator unlocks the file, the user who initially locked the file receives an email notification.

Locked files are marked with a the lock icon. Only the explicit locking action locks a file. Opening or editing a file does not automatically lock it.

If your BlackBerry Workspaces account is deleted from your organization, any files that you locked are automatically unlocked.

To lock a file, tap the menu icon beside the file and then turn on Lock.

To lock an open file, tap > Lock.