Assign users to ADE devices

You can assign a user directly to a device registered in Apple ADE before the user activates the device. For iOS devices, this is an optional step that prevents the user from having to specify their username and password during activation, unless you selected "Require credentials for assigned user" when you configured UEM for ADE. For macOS devices, this step is required.
  1. In the management console, on the menu bar, click Users > Apple ADE devices.
  2. In the User Association column for the device that you want to assign, click Select.
  3. In the Select user search box, search for the user that you want to assign to the device.
  4. In the list of search results, click the user account.
  5. Repeat steps 2 to 4 as necessary to assign additional users to devices.
  6. Click Save.
  • Distribute devices to users and have them activate with UEM. For macOS devices, it is a best practice to reset the device to erase all content and settings before the user activates the device with UEM.
  • For iOS devices, if you want to support features that require the UEM Client, instruct users to install and open the UEM Client to start the activation process.
  • For macOS devices, when users start the activation process, they receive a device management prompt, followed by a prompt to set up the primary user account. If the assigned activation profile is configured to set up a local administrator account, the local administrator account is created in the background. To give a user the local administrator password, view it in the user's device details in the management console, or have the user view it in BlackBerry UEM Self-Service, if they are granted that permission. The assigned activation profile determines how long the password is valid after it is viewed.
  • To view the owner of an activated device, in the User Association column, click the username link.
  • To remove a user from an ADE device, in the User Association column, click the username link for the device that you want to remove the user from. Click Unassign.