Remote commands for your device

You can send remote commands to your device. Depending on your activation profile and your type of device, different commands will be available to you in BlackBerry UEM Self-Service.
  1. On the menu bar, click My devices and select your device.
  2. Do any of the following:

    Task

    Description

    Steps

    Lock your device.

    If your iOS, Android, or Windows device has a device password, you can lock the device remotely. The device can be unlocked with your existing device password. If you do not have a device password, you cannot lock the device.

    1. Click Lock your device.
    2. Click Lock.

    Set a device password and lock your device.

    If you have an Android or Windows device, you can lock your device remotely and set or reset a device password. The device is locked and can be unlocked with the new password.

    If you have a macOS device, you must set a 6-digit PIN. The device restarts and cannot be accessed without entering the PIN.

    • For Android or Windows devices, complete the following steps:
      1. Click Generate device password and lock.
      2. Type your email address and click Generate.
    • For macOS devices, complete the following steps:
      1. Click Lock device using PIN.
      2. Type a PIN and click Submit.

    Unlock your device and clear the password.

    For iOS and Android devices, if you forget your device password, you can unlock your device and clear the existing device password.

    When your Android device unlocks, you can create a new device password.

    1. Click Unlock device and clear password.
    2. Click Unlock and clear.

    Reset the work space password.

    If you have an Android device with a Samsung Knox Workspace, you can reset the work space password.

    1. Click Reset work space password.
    2. Click Reset.

    When prompted on your device, create a new work space password.

    Delete all device data.

    If your device is lost or stolen, you might want to remotely delete all the data on your device. This command wipes all data from the device, returns the device to its factory settings, and deactivates it from BlackBerry UEM. The device will no longer appear in the BlackBerry UEM Self-Service console.

    For macOS devices, you also set a PIN when you delete all device data.

    1. Click Delete all device data.
    2. To preserve the data plan on your device, select the Preserve data plan checkbox. By default, the data plan information is not preserved for iOS devices and is preserved for Android devices.
    3. To confirm your request, click Delete all device data.

    Delete only work data.

    If you misplace your device and want to protect work data on the device, you can delete the work data remotely. If you no longer use a device for work purposes, you can delete the work data on your device without removing personal data. The Delete only work data command deletes work email and other work information from your device, and deactivates your device from BlackBerry UEM. The device will no longer appear in the BlackBerry UEM Self-Service console.

    1. Click Delete only work data.
    2. To confirm your request, click Delete only work data.

    Locate your device.

    If your administrator configured a location service profile for your iOS, Android, or Windows 10 Mobile device, you can locate the device. You must accept the profile before BlackBerry UEM Self-Service can display iOS and Android device locations on a map. Windows 10 Mobile devices automatically accept the profile.

    1. Click Locate device.
    2. Find your device on the map using one of the following icons. If an iOS or Android device does not respond with the latest location information and location history is enabled in the profile, the map displays the last known location of the device.
      • Current location: The Current location icon
      • Last known location: The Last known location icon
      You can click or hover over an icon to display location information, such as latitude and longitude and when the location was reported (for example, 1 minute ago or 2 hours ago).
    3. Optionally, click Refresh to update the location information.

    Turn Lost Mode on or off.

    If you lose your device, you can turn on Lost Mode to lock the device and set the message and contact information to display on the device in case someone finds it. When Lost Mode is turned on, you can view the last known location of your device in BlackBerry UEM Self-Service. When you find your device, turn off Lost Mode.

    1. Click Turn on Lost Mode.
    2. In the Contact phone number and Message fields, enter the appropriate information.
    3. Optionally, select the Replace slide to unlock text checkbox and enter the text to display.
    4. Click Enable.

    To view the location of your device, click Get device location.

    To turn off Lost Mode, click Turn off Lost Mode.