Change whether an app is required, optional, or denied
-
In the management console, do one of the following:
- If you want to change the disposition of an app assigned to a user, on the menu bar, click Users.
- If you want to change the disposition of an app assigned to a group, on the menu bar, click Groups.
- Search for and click the name of the user or group.
- In the Apps or Assigned app section, click the Disposition of the appropriate app.
-
In the Disposition drop-down list, select the appropriate option:
- Required: Install the app automatically on devices and prevent users from uninstalling the app.
- Optional: Allow users to install and uninstall the app.
- Denied (Android only): Prevent users from installing the app.
-
If it is a Google Play app assigned to Android Enterprise and Android Management devices, and you set the Disposition to required or optional, in the Update Mode drop-down list, click the appropriate option:
- Default: When a new version of the app is available in Google Play, the device is notified. Any restrictions or conditions from an assigned device SR requirements profile are applied to the app update.
- High Priority: When a new version of the app is available in Google Play, the device is notified. Any restrictions or conditions from an assigned device SR requirements profile are ignored. In larger deployments this can take up to 24 hours.
- Postpone: When a new version of the app is available in Google Play, the device is notified after 90 days, then the update is applied using latest available version. Any restrictions or conditions from an assigned device SR requirements profile are applied. Note that users can manually update the app at any time.
-
If it is an Apple VPP app, and you set the Disposition to required or optional, in the Update Mode drop-down list, click the appropriate option:
- Default: When a new version of the app is available, it will be pushed to devices automatically.
- Postpone: When a new version of the app is available, it will not be pushed to devices automatically.
- Click Save.