Deactivating devices
When a device is deactivated, the connection between the device and the user account in BlackBerry UEM is removed. You can't manage the device and the device is no longer displayed in the management console. The user can't access work data on the device.
- Administrators can deactivate a device from the UEM management console using the "Delete only work data" or "Delete all device data" command.
- UEM can deactivate a device if it violates the rules in the assigned compliance profile and the configured enforcement action is to deactivate the device.
- Users can deactivate a device from UEM Self-Service using the "Delete only work data" or "Delete all device data" command.
- Users can use the UEM Client to deactivate iOS and Android devices.
- Users can deactivate Windows 10 devices from Settings > Accounts > Work access > Delete.
Note the following considerations when you deactivate devices with the specified activation types:
|
Activation type |
Considerations |
|---|---|
|
Android Enterprise devices with a work profile only |
You have the option to delete all data from the SD card and remove factory reset protection. |
|
Android Enterprise devices with Work and personal - user privacy and Work and personal - full control activations |
If you use the "Delete only work data" command, you can specify a reason that appears in the notification on the user's device. If the device is deactivated for violating compliance rules, the notification specifies the reason the device was out of compliance. |
|
Knox MDM |
|
|
Samsung Knox Workspace devices with Work and personal - full control |
Deactivating the device deletes all data from the device. You can specify which data is wiped using the "Data wipe on deactivation" IT policy rule. |