Lock operator accounts automatically

If you are an Organization Administrator, Enterprise Administrator, or System Administrator, you can configure your BlackBerry AtHoc system to automatically lock operator accounts due to inactivity. When this feature is configured, an operator's account is locked if the operator has not logged in to the system within the specified time period.

Locked operators cannot log in to the management system until an Enterprise Administrator or Organization Administrator unlocks their account. When an account is locked due to inactivity, the operator's roles, permissions, and restrictions are preserved.

An operator's inactivity period is calculated using the Last Login Date attribute. If the operator has never logged in to the management system, the inactivity period is instead calculated from the date the operator was granted permissions. When automatic locking is enabled, a system job runs every 24 hours to lock operator accounts based on each operator's last successful login.

Enterprise and Organization administrators can unlock a locked operator account from the user's profile, and can search for locked operators using the User Lock Status attribute in advanced search.

Tip: Use the Last Login Date operator attribute to identify and notify operators whose accounts are approaching automatic lock due to inactivity.

Operator accounts with the Service Account option selected cannot be locked automatically. Automatic account locking also does not apply to operators with the Accountability Officer or SDK User role.

  1. In the navigation bar, click Settings icon.
  2. On the Settings screen, in the Setup section, click Security Policy.
  3. On the Security Policy screen, in the Lock Operator Permissions section, select one or more roles from the Operator Roles dropdown list.
  4. Select the number of days of inactivity from the Auto Lock Permissions after dropdown list.
  5. Optionally, click Add Condition to add additional operator roles to be locked after a period of inactivity. You can add up to three conditions.
  6. Optionally, click Remove rule icon to remove a lock rule.
  7. Click Save.