Automatically delete users based on attributes
In organizations where changes to the user base occur frequently, it is often more efficient to automatically delete users based on one or more user attributes.
Users can be deleted automatically based on attributes on standalone organizations, enterprise organizations and their suborganizations, and across enterprises and their suborganizations in a super enterprise organization.
- Automatically deleting sponsors also deletes their associated dependents users.
- Users who have the "Do Not Delete" option selected in their user profile cannot be automatically deleted.
For instructions on how to delete users directly from the Users list, see Delete users.
- In the navigation bar, click
.
- In the Users section, click Disable and Delete Users.
- On the Disable and Delete Users screen, in the Delete Users section, select the AND/OR operator. When AND is selected, users must meet all conditions to be added. When OR is selected, users that match any of the conditions are added. The default is AND.
- Click the Select Attribute drop-down list and select the first attribute to use to identify users to be disabled.
- When you make a selection in the Select Attribute drop-down list, the Select Operation drop-down list appears. Select an option from the list.
- In the field that appears to the right of the Select Operation field, enter or select a value.
Tip: For Multi-select Picklist, Single-select Picklist, and Status type attributes, enter characters in the search box to filter the list of attribute values. You can enter characters that appear anywhere in the attribute value.
- Optionally, click Add Condition to include another condition that must be met for a user to be deleted.
Note:
- When the AND operator is selected, if more than one condition appears in the Deleted Users section, all conditions must be met for a user to be deleted.
- You can use the User Last Updated by Source attribute to search for and delete users. For more information, see Automatically delete users based on the User Last Updated Source attribute.
- Select Delete users automatically every 7 day(s) to enable a database job that will delete users every week.
Note: If you do not select this option, you must navigate to this screen and click Delete Now each time you want to delete users.
- Optionally, click Calculate to see the number of users that will be impacted by the criteria you set.
- Optionally, consult the Last Run field to see the date and time the most recent delete action was performed.
- Optionally, click Download Log in the Last Run Result field to download a list of the users who were deleted during the last delete action.
- Optionally, in the Purge Deleted Users section, select the Purge deleted users after option and select an interval from the pull-down menu to purge deleted users from the system. For more information, see Purge deleted users.
- Click Save.
- Optionally, click Delete Now if you want to delete the list of users immediately.