Join or create a BBM group

You can plan events, track to-do lists, share pictures, and chat with up to 50 people in one group at the same time. For example, you can confirm your plans in a group chat and then create an appointment or checklist that everyone in the group can see.

Group members can invite their BBM contacts, so you can meet new people without adding them as BBM contacts. If a group already has 50 members, you can't join until someone leaves the group, or you can start your own group.

  1. TapThe Groups icon > The More actions icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To join a group, tap The Scan to Add icon. Scan a group's barcode (if you have it), or show your BBM barcode and ask a group member to scan it.
    • To create a group, tap The Create New Group icon. Complete the fields.
After you finish:

To see the groups that you're currently in, tap The Groups icon.

View or add members

You can add members to a group in BBM depending on the options that the group administrator has set.

  1. In a group, tap the group profile picture or name at the top of the screen to view the current members.
  2. To invite more people to the group, tap The Back icon > The Invite icon.
After you finish:

Group administrators can control group membership, update the group's profile picture or description, and disband the group and delete all of the shared information. Other members can become admins.

Share pictures, lists, and events

You can share items and comment on pictures or lists in a BBM group.

  1. In a group, tap The More actions icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To add a picture, tap The Add Picture icon.
    • To add a list, tap The Add List icon.
    • To add an event, tap The Add Event icon.
After you finish:
Tip: Share events with your household or coworkers to keep track of appointments that you want everyone to see.

Leave a group

The BBM group and all of its data is removed from your device when you leave a group. Other members continue to see the items that you shared, including pictures and lists.

If you're an administrator for the group, you can choose to delete the group and all of its data when you leave the group.

  1. Tap The Groups icon.
  2. Touch and hold a group name.
  3. Tap The Leave Group icon.


Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.