Restore your device to its factory default settings

If you restore your BlackBerry device running BlackBerry 10 OS to its default settings, BlackBerry Link deletes all of the data and third-party applications from your device. Any IT policies that are applied to your device are also deleted. After you restore your device to its default settings, you can run the setup application on your device to set up the device again.

To restore your device running BlackBerry Device Software 5.0 or later to its default settings, use the BlackBerry Desktop Software, or you can perform a security wipe on your device. For more information about how to delete your device data, click the Help icon on the home screen of your smartphone.

Before you begin, you should back up your data so that you have a copy on your computer.

CAUTION:
You can't stop the process of restoring your device to its default settings after you start it. If you reset your device, the process continues after the device restarts.
  1. On your computer, open BlackBerry Link.
  2. At the side of the BlackBerry Link window, click your device.
  3. Click Back Up & Restore.
  4. Click Factory Reset.


Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.