Join or create a BBM group

Plan events, track to-do lists, share pictures, and chat with up to 30 people in one group at the same time. For example, you can make decisions and confirm your plans in the group chat and then create an appointment that everyone in the group can see. If a group already has 30 members, you won't be able to join until someone leaves the group or you can start your own group.

Whoever creates the group automatically controls the group membership, profile picture and name, and can disband the group plus delete all of the shared information. Additional admins can be added after that.

  1. TapThe Groups icon > The More actions icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To join a group, tap The Join Group icon. Scan a group's barcode (if you have it), or show your BBM barcode and ask a group member to scan it.
    • To create a group, tap The Create New Group icon. Complete the fields.
After you finish:

To see the groups that you're currently in, tap The Groups icon.

View or add members

You can add members to a group that you're in depending on the options that the group administrator has set.

  1. In a group, tap the group profile picture or name at the top of the screen to view the current members.
  2. To invite more people to the group, tap The Back icon > The Invite icon.

Share pictures, lists, and events

You can share items and comment on pictures or lists in a group.

  1. In a group, tap The More actions icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Tap The Add Picture icon.
    • Tap The Add List icon.
    • Tap The Add Event icon.
After you finish:
Tip: Share events with your household or coworkers to keep track of appointments that you want everyone to see.

View group activity

Do one of the following:
  • To see updates across all of your groups, tap The More tabs icon > The Updates icon.
  • To see updates for a specific group, tap The Groups icon and then a group. Tap the group picture or name at the top of the screen. Tap Updates.

Leave a group

The group and all of its data is removed from your device when you leave a group. Other members continue to see the items that you shared, including pictures and lists.

If you're an administrator for the group, you can choose to delete the group and all of its data when you leave the group.

  1. Tap The Groups icon.
  2. Touch and hold a group name.
  3. Tap The Leave Group icon.


Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.