Restore your device to its default settings

If you restore your BlackBerry device running BlackBerry 10 OS to its default settings, BlackBerry Link deletes all of the data and third-party applications from your device. Any IT policies that are applied to your device are also deleted. After you restore your device to its default settings, you can run the setup application on your device to set up the device again.

To restore your BlackBerry smartphone running BlackBerry Device Software 5.0 or later to its default settings, you must use the BlackBerry Desktop Software. Or you can delete all of your device data using your smartphone. For more information about how to delete your device data, click the Help icon on the home screen of your smartphone.

Before you restore your device to its default settings and delete the data from your device, Research In Motion recommends that you back up your data so that you have a copy on your computer.

Note: You can't stop the process of restoring your device to its default settings after you start it. If you reset your device, the process continues after the device restarts.
  1. On your computer, open BlackBerry Link.
  2. At the bottom of the screen, click your device.
  3. Click the Settings icon.
  4. In the Settings view, in the left pane, click Restore Data.
  5. Click Restore to Factory Settings.
  6. Click Restore.
Tip: To restore your device to its default settings, you can also click the Arrow beside your device at the bottom of your screen. Click Restore.


Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.