Lock your screen

By locking the screen, you can help prevent your BlackBerry device from sending accidental messages or pocket dialing. Locking your device doesn't disable alerts for incoming calls or messages.

Press the Power/Lock key on the top of your device.
Image of Power/Lock key on top of the device.

After you finish: To unlock the screen, swipe up from the bottom of the screen.

Lock your device with a password

Looking for a simple way to help protect your BlackBerry device data and prevent unauthorized use of your device? You can set a password so that you can lock your device when it's in open view or not in use.

  1. If you don't have a password yet, on the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen. Tap Settings > Security and Privacy > Device Password. Set the Device Password switch to On. Enter a password.
  2. To lock your device, do one of the following:
    • Press and hold the Power/Lock key on the top of your device. Tap Lock.
    • To automatically lock your device after a certain amount of time, on the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen. Tap Settings > Security and Privacy > Device Password > Lock Device After Screen Lock.
    • To automatically lock your device when it's in a BlackBerry case, on the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen. Tap Settings > Security and Privacy > Device Password > Lock Device When Holstered.
After you finish: To unlock your device, press the Power/Lock key on the top of your device. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen. When prompted, enter your device password.

Lock your work space

If your BlackBerry device uses BlackBerry Balance technology to separate your work and personal activity, you can lock your work space and continue to access personal files, personal apps, and personal data on your device.

  1. If you don't have a work space password, to create one, on the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen. Tap Balance > Set Password. Type a password.
  2. On the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
    • To immediately lock your work space, tap Briefcase.
    • To automatically lock your work space after a set amount of time, tap Balance > Lock work space after.
After you finish:

Take care to remember your work space password, as it can't be reset or recovered. When you exceed the number of allowed attempts to enter your work space password, your work space and all of its contents are deleted.



Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.