Administration Guide

Local Navigation

Synchronizing contact pictures

By default, the BlackBerry® Synchronization Service synchronizes pictures that a user adds to contact entries in their contact list between the BlackBerry device and the email applications on their computer. A user can add, delete, and change pictures in the email applications on the computer or on the BlackBerry device.

If a picture is larger than 32 KB, the BlackBerry Synchronization Service cannot synchronize the contact picture to a BlackBerry device from an email application.

Turn off synchronization of contact pictures for a user account

Before you begin:

Verify that you turned on the mappings for organizer data synchronization for a specific user account.

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. Click Edit user.
  6. In the Messaging configuration section, click Default configuration.
  7. On the Mappings for organizer data synchronization tab, in the Additional mappings section, in the Picture drop-down list, click None.
  8. Click Continue to user information edit.
  9. Click Save all.

Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.