Administration Guide

Local Navigation

Managing user accounts

You can move user accounts from one user group to another or from one BlackBerry® Enterprise Server to another in the BlackBerry Domain. If you move a user account from one BlackBerry Enterprise Server to another, the destination BlackBerry Enterprise Server sends new service books to the BlackBerry device over the wireless network.If you are moving a user’s mailbox to a different Microsoft® Exchange Server and moving the user account to a different BlackBerry Enterprise Server, first move the user’s mailbox to the destination mail server. Do not move the user account until the destination BlackBerry Enterprise Server recognizes the new mailbox location.

If you move a user mailbox or change its display name on the messaging server, the BlackBerry Enterprise Server is designed to update the user account within 15 minutes of when the change occurs. If you move a hidden mailbox that does not appear in the contact list, you must update the user account that is associated with the BlackBerry Enterprise Server manually.

When you delete a user account, you can retain the user account information in the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. You can activate the user account again, or the user can continue to use the BlackBerry device as a BlackBerry® Desktop Redirector. When you activate a user account that you retained, the user account will have the same settings it had before you deleted it.

Move a user account to a different group

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. Click Edit user.
  6. On the Groups tab, in the Current groups list, click the group that you want to to remove the user from.
  7. Click Remove.
  8. In the Available groups list, click the group that you want to move the user account to.
  9. Click Add.
  10. Click Save all.
Back To Top

Move a user account from one BlackBerry Enterprise Server to another

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for one or more user accounts.
  4. In the search results, select one or more user accounts.
  5. In the BlackBerry Enterprise Server status list, click Switch BlackBerry user to different BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
  6. In the Available BlackBerry Enterprise Server instances list, click the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server that you want to move the user accounts to.
  7. Click Next.
  8. A message appears indicating that some of the user accounts might have pending deployment tasks. Perform one of the following actions:
    • If you want to cancel any pending deployment tasks and move all of the user accounts, click Yes - Switch the users and fail the deployment tasks.
    • If you do not want to move the user accounts that have pending deployment tasks, click No - Switch only the users that have no existing deployment tasks.
Back To Top

Delete a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server

Before you begin: Verify that the primary BlackBerry® Enterprise Server is running.
  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. In the BlackBerry Enterprise Server status list, click Disable as BlackBerry user.
  6. Perform one of the following actions:
    • To retain the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information in the user’s mailbox, click Yes - Disable as BlackBerry user.
    • To delete the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user’s mailbox, click Yes - Disable as a BlackBerry user and remove the BlackBerry information from the user's mail system. This command does not delete any data from the user's BlackBerry device.
  7. Click Back to search.
  8. In the Search for users > User criteria section, type the display name for the user account.
  9. Click the display name for the user account.
  10. In the Status list, click Delete user.
Back To Top

Update a user account manually

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. In the Status list, click Reload user.
Back To Top

Add an administrator role to a user account

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. Click Edit user.
  6. On the Roles tab, in the Available roles list, click the role that you want to assign to the user account.
  7. Click Add.
  8. Click Save all.
Back To Top

Update the contact list manually

You can update the contact list in the BlackBerry® Configuration Database so that you can include any organizational changes or updates in the contact list. The amount of time that the BlackBerry Mail Store Service requires to update the contact list depends on the contact list size.

  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the Servers and components menu, expand BlackBerry Solution topology > BlackBerry Domain > Component view.
  2. Click Email.
  3. Click Refresh available user list from company directory.
Back To Top

Resend service books to a BlackBerry device

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the BlackBerry device PIN.
  5. In the Communications list, click Resend service books to a device.
Back To Top
Previous topic: Delete a group

Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.