Administration Guide

Local Navigation

Deleting only work data from a device

To help secure your organization's data on a personal BlackBerry® device, you can permit your organization to delete work data from a device when a user no longer works at your organization. You can use the BlackBerry Administration Service to require that a personal device remove only work data when the device receives the Delete only the organization data and remove device IT administrative command over the wireless network. All personal data remains on the device. A BlackBerry device user cannot use the device or make emergency calls while the device deletes the work data.

The device permanently deletes the following work data:

Item

Description

email messages

  • email messages that are sent to the user's work email account and the email messages that the user sends from the work email account
  • draft email messages that the user creates using their work email account

attachments

attachments that are sent to the user's work email account and the attachments that the user sends from the work email account

calendar entries

calendar entries that the user creates using their work calendar

contacts

contacts that the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server synchronizes with the user's work email account

memos

all memos

tasks

all tasks

call history

although the device defines phone data for personal use, the call history entries are deleted when you delete work data

call logs

although the device classifies phone data as personal data, the call log files are deleted when you delete work data

the BlackBerry® Browser cache

although the device specifies the BlackBerry Browser for personal use, the BlackBerry Browser cache is deleted when you delete work data

files

  • files that the user accesses and downloads from your organization's network using the Files application
  • files on media cards that are created by applications that can access work data (except for media applications)
  • work data is not deleted from the media card if the media card is not available when the device deletes work data, however the user cannot access work data on the media card after the device removes work data

IT policy

IT policy that is associated with your organization

PIN encryption key

references to your organization's PIN encryption key

device transport key

references to the device transport key which prevents the device from communicating with the BlackBerry Enterprise Server

work service books

service books on the device that the device classifies for work use

Delete only work data from a device

Before you begin: If you want to remove your organization's applications from the BlackBerry® device, create a software configuration that includes the applications and set the disposition of all work applications to Disallowed in the software configuration. Assign the software configuration to the user account to send it to the device. For more information, see the BlackBerry Enterprise Server Administration Guide.
  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the PIN for the user account.
  5. In the Device activation list, click Delete only the organization data and remove device.
  6. Optionally, in the Removing users and devices section, in the Actions drop-down list, perform one of the following actions:
    • To delete a user account from the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server but retain the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information in the user's mailbox, click Delete the user.
    • In a Microsoft® Exchange environment, to delete a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server and remove the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user's mailbox, click Delete the user and remove BlackBerry information from the user's messaging system.
    • In an IBM® Lotus® Domino® environment, to delete a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server and remove the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user's mailbox, click Delete the user and remove the profile document and the state database.
    • To disable a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server but retain the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information in the user's mailbox, click Disable as BlackBerry user.
    • In a Microsoft Exchange environment, to disable a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server and remove the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user's mailbox, click Disable the user and remove BlackBerry information from the user's messaging system.
    • In a Lotus Domino environment, to disable a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server and remove the BlackBerry Enterprise Server information from the user's mailbox, click Disable the user and remove the profile document and the state database.
  7. Click Yes - Delete only the organization data and remove device.
Back To Top

Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.