Administration Guide

Local Navigation

Protect a lost BlackBerry device that a user might recover

If a BlackBerry® device is lost but the BlackBerry device user might recover it, you can protect the information on the BlackBerry device by scheduling it to start deleting all user information and application data and to become unavailable after a period of time that you specify. You can also specify whether the user can cancel the scheduled command if the user recovers the BlackBerry device.
  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the PIN for the user account.
  5. In the Device activation section, click Delete all device data and disable device.
  6. In the Erase Data Settings section, perform the following actions:
    • In the Erase Data Delay (hours) field, type the number of hours that must elapse before the BlackBerry device starts deleting user information and application data.

    • In the Allow User Override drop-down list, click Yes to permit the user to cancel the scheduled command on the BlackBerry device if the user recovers it.
  7. Click Yes - Delete all device data and disable device.
Previous topic: Protect a lost device

Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.