Administration Guide

Local Navigation

Managing user accounts

If you rename users in Novell®ConsoleOne®, you must readd the user accounts to the BlackBerry Enterprise Server so that the BlackBerry Enterprise Server can retrieve the changes to the user account.

When you delete a user account, you can retain the user account information in the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. You can activate the user account again, or the user can continue to use the BlackBerry device as a BlackBerry® Desktop Redirector. When you activate a user account that you retained, the user account will have the same settings it had before you deleted it.

Move a user account to a different group

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. Click Edit user.
  6. On the Groups tab, in the Current groups list, click the group that you want to to remove the user from.
  7. Click Remove.
  8. In the Available groups list, click the group that you want to move the user account to.
  9. Click Add.
  10. Click Save all.

Move a user account from one BlackBerry Enterprise Server to another

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. In the BlackBerry Enterprise Server status list, click Switch BlackBerry user to different BlackBerry Enterprise Server.
  6. In the Available BlackBerry Enterprise Server instances list, click the BlackBerry® Enterprise Server that you want to move the user account to.
  7. Click Save all.

Delete a user account from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server

Before you begin: Verify that the primary BlackBerry® Enterprise Server is running.
  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. In the BlackBerry Enterprise Server status list, click Disable as BlackBerry user.
  6. Click Back to search.
  7. In the Search users > User criteria section, type the display name for the user account.
  8. Click the display name for the user account.
  9. In the Status list, click Delete user.

Update a user account manually

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. In the Status list, click Reload user.

Add an administrator role to a user account

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the display name for the user account.
  5. Click Edit user.
  6. On the Roles tab, in the Available roles list, click the role that you want to assign to the user account.
  7. Click Add.
  8. Click Save all.

Update the contact list manually

You can update the contact list in the BlackBerry® Configuration Database so that you can include any organizational changes or updates in the contact list. The amount of time that the BlackBerry Mail Store Service requires to update the contact list depends on the contact list size.

  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the Servers and components menu, expand BlackBerry solution topology > BlackBerry Domain > Component view.
  2. Click Email.
  3. Click Refresh available user list from company directory.

Resend service books to a BlackBerry device

  1. In the BlackBerry® Administration Service, on the BlackBerry solution management menu, expand User.
  2. Click Manage users.
  3. Search for a user account.
  4. In the search results, click the BlackBerry device PIN.
  5. In the Communications list, click Resend service books to a device.
Previous topic: Delete a group

Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.