Help Center

Local Navigation

Resetting a BlackBerry device to factory default settings

You can use the Reset to Factory Defaults on Wipe IT policy rule to require that a BlackBerry® device reset to the factory default settings when the BlackBerry device receives the Delete all device data and disable device IT administration command over the wireless network. When you change the value for the IT policy rule to Yes and send the IT administration command to the BlackBerry device, the BlackBerry device resets to the factory default settings and permanently deletes all device data. If the BlackBerry device is running BlackBerry® Device Software versions 5.0 and later, the BlackBerry device also deletes the IT policy and removes third-party applications.

If the BlackBerry device is running BlackBerry Device Software version 5.0 and later and you change the value for the IT policy rule to Yes, the BlackBerry device resets to factory default settings when you send the IT administration command, when a user permanently deletes BlackBerry device data, or when the user exceeds the maximum number of password attempts.

When the BlackBerry device resets to the factory default settings, the BlackBerry device overwrites the BlackBerry device memory. If you or a user turned on content protection, the BlackBerry device also scrubs the BlackBerry device memory. When the BlackBerry device scrubs the BlackBerry device memory, it deletes any residual unmapped data.

Index


Was this information helpful? Send us your comments.